Sign in with
Your question

Computer Turns on, No display.

Last response: in Components
September 14, 2011 8:37:57 AM

hi there, i have an ibm harddrive, going on 4 years old now and it wont turn display anything on the screen when i have turned it on. the harddrive turns on but i cant hear any fans going. the monitor works fine as i hooked it up to my other harddrive to check. Is there any way i can fix this myself without having to endure costly i.t expenses?

More about : computer turns display

September 14, 2011 9:07:34 AM

Im no expert but i dont think you need a harddrive for the monitor to recieve a signal, have you installed the harddrive and since then the screen wont turn on? Maybe it is possible you have knocked something out of place? When i built my first pc a few weeks ago i couldnt get the screen to do anything and it turned out i hadnt seated to RAM perfectly?

Ad
m
l
September 14, 2011 9:28:47 AM

Yes.you need to maybe remove the RAM and put it back again after cleaning off the dust carefully without damaging the hardware.if u got 2 slots for memory u can switch the slots.
I had the same issue and got it fixed this way.remove power cable before doing this.
m
l
Related resources
September 14, 2011 9:37:26 AM

adam1712 said:
Im no expert but i dont think you need a harddrive for the monitor to recieve a signal, have you installed the harddrive and since then the screen wont turn on? Maybe it is possible you have knocked something out of place? When i built my first pc a few weeks ago i couldnt get the screen to do anything and it turned out i hadnt seated to RAM perfectly?

Ad

mean! thanx for the advice i will try this out tomorrow and hopefully it will work! will let u no how i get on with this. cheers
m
l
September 14, 2011 9:38:58 AM

karanpal singh said:
Yes.you need to maybe remove the RAM and put it back again after cleaning off the dust carefully without damaging the hardware.if u got 2 slots for memory u can switch the slots.