Sign in with
Your question

New i7 2600k build - DAW and video production

Last response: in Systems
June 19, 2011 7:25:18 PM

Hi guys,

Forum newbie here planning my first build. I'm looking to build a pc for Audio production and video editing. I'm planning on using a rackmounted case for portability and use in the field but of course it will have to be as silent as my budget will allow. This will also have to have sufficient cooling so I'm thinking of maybe starting the build with the basics and then adding proper cooling etc. when I've got the extra cash! This means I'll be leaving the overclocking till I can afford proper cooling. I'm also working on a budget at the moment but if needs be I'd would prefer to save up for certain components rather than settle for sub-par parts. Anyways any help would be appreciated!

1) What will you be doing with this PC? Gaming? Photoshop? Web browsing? etc

Audio production (Cubase) and Video editing

2) What's your budget? Are tax and shipping included?

Approx €1000 to start off the build (without going mad on cooling, that can wait if I'm not planning on overclocking I assume..). Parts sourced mostly from http://www2.hardwareversand.de/home.jsp if possible as shipping is reasonable

3) Where do you live?

Ireland

4) What exact parts do you need for that budget? CPU, RAM, case, etc. The word "Everything" is not a valid answer. Please list out all the parts you'll need.

CPU, Mobo, RAM, case (rackmounted 4U preferably), graphics card (not really into gaming but will need dual monitor support), hard drives, power supply..and any other misc. items. This is a new build, I have no re-usable components except monitors.

5) If reusing any parts, what parts will you be reusing? Please be especially specific about the power supply. List make and model.

-

6) Will you be overclocking?

Not until I can afford proper cooling.

7) What size monitor do you have and/or plan to have?

1280 x 1024