Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Requesting advice on Sandy bridge build

Last response: in Systems
June 20, 2011 1:52:47 AM

I followed the guide when making this post, but it’s very possible I put it in the wrong place or mis-formatted something. If I did I’m terribly sorry, let me know and I’ll fix it. I’m about to go through with this build and purchase the parts, but this is my first build, and I may be doing something fabulously stupid. (Bottlenecking, incompatibility, etc). So if you can think of any way to improve this before I go through with it, by all mean, please help.

Approximate Purchase Date: Sometime this or next week, depending on what deals new egg comes up with. No real rush.

Budget Range: 1,100 – 1,400 After Rebates

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Upgradeability, multi-monitor support (2-5), Coding in C++, running multiple Cs5 programs at once, Editing in Adobe Premiere CS5, casual gamming.

Parts Not Required: keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers, OS, etc, (I have everything except the tower itself.)

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: newegg.com (Everyone says to use newegg)

Country of Origin: USA (Florida, it’s bloody hot)

Parts Preferences: Whatever you recommend.

Overclocking: Maybe

SLI or Crossfire: Eventually. I’ll buy a second video card when I get more money.

Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080, 1360x768, 1024x768, 1280x800, 800x600 (I generally use 3-5, these are all 5 of them)

Additional Comments: The computer is mostly a media editing computer, games are nice, but not a main concern. Not all of the monitors need to be hooked up at the same time. It would be nice, but I’m fine with only 3 at a time. I listed them in order of most important to least important. I know the power supply is overkill for this build, but I’m eventually going to crossfire, and I have like five 5.25” drives of various function I plan to put in it.

CPU Intel Core i7-2600K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor