Sign in with
Your question

Palit GTX460 1GB Fan Shatterd...

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
April 7, 2011 12:09:27 AM

Hi, Just Yesterday My Fans on my GPU's ( I have two of them) have shattered one of them is Completely Gone, there is no fans and the other is missing 2..I'm not good with Fans and what not but, I've been trying to find the Dimensions for the Fans to somehow replace them but no Luck, so would I Have to get a Mounted Cooler or could I Replace the fans Myself or would I be better off sending it in? Heres a Picture.

a b U Graphics card
April 7, 2011 12:20:33 AM

If it's under warranty, send it in for sure. I guess you might be able to find another VGA cooler that would fit, but there's no point in spending more money and time if it's covered by the warranty.
m
l
a b U Graphics card
April 7, 2011 12:24:07 AM

How did they shatter?
m
l
Related resources
a c 173 U Graphics card
April 7, 2011 12:26:51 AM

Warranty of a lot of trouble with a drill and two kamikaze fans. You can in theory replace those fans your self but mounting them could be a changeling if you keep the shroud. PS 80mm from the look of it. It have seen one on youtube ware the owner did indeed have the same problem as you and didn't bother to rma.

Here is his video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NQjZYs8J9yU

Here is my gtx 460, what a nub I am with editing :D 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RwbLWweakRY
m
l
April 7, 2011 12:40:37 AM

Not to be insensitive but... Cool! How did that happen?
m
l
April 7, 2011 8:08:37 AM

Well what happened was i had my pc on and i went to move my case so i did but i it slipped out of my hand...so im assuming from the impact to the ground broke some but also i guess the fans jumped high enough to catch on something in the Graphics Card it self and Snap...im only guessing here.
m
l
a c 172 U Graphics card
April 7, 2011 11:24:55 AM

lmao. Unless they dont check the card at all, there is no way they will warranty that.
m
l
a c 173 U Graphics card