Sign in with
Your question

Replacing Parts in a Dell Inpiron 530

Last response: in Components
September 15, 2011 10:59:31 PM

Hello Everyone

My friend PC, a Dell Inspiron 530, died. While installing a printer with the front usb on the case, he saw a spark when connecting the cable and computer died. After a few test I would say Mother board and Power supplies are dead but as a very new builder I am not sure.

Tested the motherboard with a different PS that is installed in my old working pc, power goes on but nothing happens and fans are running like crazy like full spin really fast but no startt. With the old PS the fans are running at low-high-low-high at the same time the amber light on the mb is flashing. I have tested the HD is its working. So what would you guys think.

The old mother board was a 4XDDR2 and he would like to keep is 3 mb ram (2X1G 2X512MB) if possible. My friends a bit short on money so he cant change his PC atm. I had suggest him those parts if the MB and PS are done. What you guys think. If you have any suggestion or more testing please let me know.

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E1681...
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E1681...

I went with a new tower as I was afraid that the usb ports might have been fried? O and BTW the pcu is a core duo quad.

Sorry for the spelling english is not my first language.

Thank you
a b ) Power supply
a c 111 V Motherboard
September 15, 2011 11:20:24 PM

Sparks are never good. I believe that the mobo is toast, but I would first run one more test. Do a breadboard; basically build the system without the case.

Follow these steps:

1. Remove motherboard from the case, and place it on a non-conductive surface. A phonebook, cardboard, wood, are a few examples.

2. Remove the RAM sticks, if not already done.

3. Connect the original power supply unit to the motherboard, and don't forget about the CPU plug.