4890HD Crossfire vs $200ish new card?

scorpian61

Distinguished
Dec 30, 2009
The title pretty much says it all, except for one thing. I am currently running on a 28inch monitor whose resolution is 1920x1200. I am not an expert in graphics card mechanics but from the miniscule knowledge I have, I am under the impression that at a resolution, as high as I run, would benefit more from an average crossfired card opposed to 1 newer card whose single gpu benchmarks are maybe only 10ish% better than that of the old single card. Or, I could be talking out of my butthole. I really do not know. Thus, the reason I have come here. So yeah, I was thinking about rather spending 100 or so dollars getting another ATI Radeon Xfx 4890HD card off of ebay, or, getting maybe a 6850 caliber type card for $170-200ish. I also wanted to do some gameplay recording in a few games I play, so I also do not know if crossfire would gravitate towards more awesomeness opposed to a single, more modern card.

Not too sure if this makes any difference in judgement, but, here are some specs of my comp at the moment:

asus m4a79xtd evo mobo
corsair xms3 2x2gb ddr3
amd phenom x2 550 black edition (actually is unlocked as a quad core) 3.1ghz
xion 1000watt p14he power supply
seagate 7200rpm 1tb hard drive
haf 932 cooler master case (i don't know, just thought i would throw it out there lol)

Solution
I would not CF a 4890 it is a 2 gen ago card. If you are looking to upgrade I'd get something new with all the benefits of the new cards like DX11, better power utilization, Tessellation, etc. I'd sell it off for like $50 or whatever they are going for and just get a new single card. Is $200 a solid number or can you play with that a bit? If you are an avid gamer you may want to throw a little more money at that and get a GTX570 or something like that. They are $350 before rebate, but they will last you a good while.