Sign in with
Your question

Upgrading Power Supply

Last response: in Components
September 17, 2011 8:56:56 PM

Hey,

I'm a complete noob when it comes to opening up and changing hardware in my pc, however i'm thinking of going for an eyefinity setup. After searching around for the monitors/GPU's the Ati 5870/Sapphire 6870 Flex seemed to suit my needs ( correct me if i'm wrong ). However i soon realised i needed a 500-600W + PSU and i have a standard 450W Psu. I have no idea what to look for and have many questions..

If i have an ATX Case ( which i believe i have ) will any ATX PSU fit it?

As i will have the higher GPU i will need more connectors so do i need to find a PSU with a certain ammount ? or can i add more onto a new PSU?

The case I have has LEDs would that be straightforward and not be affected by the switch? ( Guessing it will as they are probably on the Motherboard? )

The PSU i have at the moment has a switch above the socket, and in some of the PSU's ive seen they are in different places, will it fit the case? or is it not part of the case?

As you can see i'm a complete noob at this kind of thing, and all the answers i seem to find are hard to understand.
I found this PSU http://www.amazon.co.uk/CiT-750W-Power-Supply-Rails/dp/... would this be ok? i know its cheap and isn't by a brand but i don't have a huge budget and the reviews seem ok.

Any answers would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks.

More about : upgrading power supply

a b ) Power supply
September 17, 2011 10:42:39 PM

what are the specs of your system,cpu,motherboard,case,this information can help othere to give you good advice regarding the psu,also the psu is very important part of the pc,i would recomend buying a good quality psu if you can,maybe a corsair or antec true power
September 17, 2011 10:50:07 PM

Cpu : Intel i5 650
Mobo : Foxconn p55a
Case : no idea, its an Advent Ci 5231
I Can try and find out the PSU Atm if you wish?