Sign in with
Your question

Htpc processor question

Last response: in CPUs
September 19, 2011 7:05:19 PM

I'm seeking to build a HTPC, but this is my first build; while technically capable, I have no experience of specifying individual components in a machine having, up until this time, bought pre-built systems. While I'm able to get a general idea of the overall performance of a machine (having kept myself up-to-date on the latest hardware releases via Tom's Hardware for the last few years) I've no idea whether individual components are capable of what I need them to do, or whether they are just overkill.

As previously mentioned, I'm intending to built a HTPC; however, all it really has to do is be a media server. In the short term I have almost 700 DVDs that need to be stored on hard drive for easy access; in the future I will probably replace these DVDs with Blu-ray versions, so I might end up pushing the storage much higher.

My intention is to connect it directly to a HD TV and home theatre amp / receiver, running Ubuntu linux 64 bit; using XBMC as the media software. I don't need to receive / record live TV; I'll probably use Chrome to watch online TV if I can't get it thought XBMC.

Really all it's got to do is access and play back .iso images from a locally-connected hard drive.

My initial thoughts were for an Intel Sandy Bridge CPU, as I believe it's worth spending a little more money for something which would last longer.

I was initially thinking of a quad-core CPU - probably a Core i5 2400S, but I've started to doubt this choice as surely it's overkill for a htpc? I thought a quad-core initially because, as I've mentioned, I've got almost 700 DVDs to backup as an .iso image to the hard drives - my thinking being that it would complete quicker with a faster CPU. But, as I thought further, I realised that I'm not trying to transcode the DVD; merely just seeking to copy it to the hard drive, preserving all the structure of the DVD intact.