Student Gaming/audio Rig

songoku619

Distinguished
Jun 24, 2011
Hi, I'm a student whose working part time n well, don't really have that much cash (weekend jobz suck :p)
Anyway, I thought i'd build up a PC for audio compilations (Mostly recorded vocals not too many synths etc.) and for a lil bit of gaming (I'm not entirely hardcore) and WONT be overclocking. Also I'm aiming for the PC to be as silent as possible for my budget.

Anyway so far here's what I've picked up with the last penny...

Chassis: Antec Sonata Proto ('Designed to be quiet')
CPU: Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard: MSI P67A-C43
RAM: Corsair Value Select 4GB DDR3 1333MHz x2 (Audio Production)
Gfx: Sapphire HD5750 Game Edition (1Gb)
Hdd: Seagate Barracuda Sata 6/G 500Gb 7200Rpm 16mb
PSU: Coolermaster eXtreme Power Plus 650w

I've already got an audiophile 2496 soundcard and a 1Tb external for storage

So anyway...Any suggestions/replacements..? More Bang4Buck n a quieter solution perhaps? And I just wanted to make sure that everything works together Lol. it'd be a bummer if I blew something on my first try :p

Please don't quote Ferrari's etc I don't want a spec list of the latest uptodate hardcore gaming pc (Unless you'd like to sponsor ? :p)

Thanks

striker410

Distinguished
Hi there, welcome to the forums.

Interesting needs! I think we can make you something easily.
-The first thing is you need to drop to an i5-2400 if you don't plan on overclocking. It's the same CPU really.
-Next thing is go with a Z68 board. If you ever get into video production, you will be glad you did.
-Get some better ram. 1600MHz ram is very cheap nowadays, in some cases even cheaper than 1333MHz.
Get a GPU with a little more oopmh. I know you don't want to game, but let's at least get your game face on for BF3!
-I would get a better/cheaper power supply. Antec and Corsair are what you need to look at. Your choice depends on what GPU you get.

And that's my thoughts! Let me know if you have any questions.