$600 HTPC build in need of review

pepperfez

Distinguished
Jun 24, 2011
I'm new to both the forum and system building, so I'd like to run my ideas by some experts.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Approximate Purchase Date: within the next month

Budget Range: ~$500-600 before rebate

System Usage from Most to Least Important: streaming Netflix and sports, light gaming, web surfing, music

Parts Not Required: monitor, peripherals, OS

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg, as long as it's available there

Country of Origin: United States

Parts Preferences: see below

Overclocking: No

SLI or Crossfire:No

Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080 HDTV

Additional Comments: It should be cool and quiet enough to live inside an entertainment center

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Motherboard: MSI H67MA-E35 (B3) LGA 1155 Intel H67 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Video Card: SAPPHIRE 100321DDR5LP Radeon HD 6450 512MB DDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready Low Profile Ready Video Card

PSU: SeaSonic SS-350SFE 350W SFX12V V3.1 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply - OEM

CPU:Intel Core i3-2100 Sandy Bridge 3.1GHz LGA 1155 65W Dual-Core Desktop Processor BX80623I32100

RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL

HDD: Western Digital Caviar Green WD15EARS 1.5TB SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

DVD: ASUS DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS Black SATA 24X DVD Burner - Bulk - OEM

Case: SilverStone GD02S Aluminum/Steel Micro ATX Media Center/HTPC Case - Retail (Silver)