(ATI) HD 5770 low FPS on TF2

Tags:
  • Graphics Cards
  • FPS
  • HD
  • Graphics
Last response: in Graphics & Displays
April 12, 2011 8:34:57 PM

Now i got my HD 5770 in late January. I've used it for about a month in a half with no problems. I ran a few benchmarks on Crysis 1 (got about 40 fps to 50 fps), got well over 120 fps on HL2. etc. Now after i started playing TF2, i never did a benchmark on it. It was by sight alone i realized i was lagging and my frames where lower then normal. Now i got on HL2 a source game, over 120, would online play effect this? Cause i just don't beleive online or no online that my FPS should be at 20 or 35 fps on TF2.

I used driver sweeper to get rid of the old drivers and got the new ones and its still giving me low FPS online.

Its this a driver issue (like the latest drivers are the problem), a heat issue (like my card's performance is lagging due to heat). Also what FPS do you guys get on TF2 with the HD 5770 or any Radeon card near it?

More about : ati 5770 low fps tf2

April 12, 2011 8:48:24 PM

I also keep getting a "drive stopped working error" once in a while.
m
l
April 12, 2011 10:47:07 PM

I would download EVGA Precision or a similar program so that you can check a few things. Note: you do not have to have an EVGA card in order to use EVGA precision. This program will tell you what your temperatures are and videocard core clock and shader clock speeds are.