Sign in with
Your question

$1500-$2000 Video Editing Build

Last response: in Systems
June 25, 2011 9:05:07 PM

Hey guys, this is my first time building a computer and I will probably be getting all of my parts from either my local Fry's or Newegg. I will mainly be using this computer for video editing and surfing the web. I will probably overclock it and 4.4 ghz seem like a good speed to go for. I would like to use air cooling. I'm not really sure if I should use the Z68 or P67 chipset. As far as RAM, I think 8 GB will be sufficient, but I am not quite sure if speed or CAS Latency is more important. I would like to have a SSD for the operating system and a HDD for the rest of the data. I don't really ever play video games, but I would like to be able to watch blu-ray movies on it. Here is my build so far. Tell me what you think and how I can improve it.

Processor: Intel i7 2600k (I believe the extra cost of hyper-threading is worth it for video editing)

CPU Cooler: Thermalright Silver Arrow or Scythe Mugen 3 or better suggestions?

Motherboard: P8Z68-V Pro or P8P67 Pro

Memory (RAM): http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168... or http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Graphics Card: This is probably what I know the least about. I will not be gaming, but would still like a mid-range graphics card. Preferably under $200.

Case: Cooler Master HAF X Blue Edition

Solid State Drive: Crucial or Plextor (64GB; Sata III)

Hard Disc Drive: I'm not really sure about this one. I would like it to be 2 TB, under $150, and be as fast as it can be in that price range.

Optical Drive: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Monitor: I really like the idea of a tri-monitor setup, but may only be able to afford 1 right now. Acer seems to have some good quality monitors for the money.