Athlon II X3 3.0Ghz--- unlocked
MSI 870- G45--- solid caps
Avexir 2GB 10600
WDC 500GB 7200
XFX HD 5770
Enermax NAXN 450W--- dunno if it's 80+ certified or not
Case Deluxe Firestorm
LED Philips 19"--- max res is 1366x768
DVD afterburner, keyboard, Jerry the mouse...
for roughly $600.
Is it a good low-end gaming PC build?

This is my first time building a new PC, so I don't know much. Too bad I've ordered it before asking you in this forum. Regardless, I want to know your opinions about the spec above. Odd enough, the motherboard is more expensive than the processor. Is that alright? Ideal? I thought the HD 5770 would be too much for that small resolution, but considering it a future proof DX11-ready gpu, I bought it. And I think I need more RAM.
Can it play any latest games like Crysis 2 or Black Ops? I'm not an enthusiast gamer by the way, so I don't overclock.

Sorry for my English. Correct if I'm wrong.

Thanks.

More about : good gaming

June 28, 2011 5:51:29 AM

i3-2100 and H61 motherboard is a much better choice for gaming at similar cost. The 2100 outperforms AMD's fastest CPU, the Phenom II X4 980, at $120.

The 5770 is more than enough for that resolution.

Enermax makes good power supplies and 80+ is all BS anyways since it's at 23 degrees Celsius when normal operating temps are 30-40 degrees Celsius within a case.

You don't need more RAM but it would certainly be nice for multi-tasking.

Black Ops looks terrible and runs on a 4 year old engine, anything can run it. For games like Crysis 2 the 5770 is more than sufficient to max it out at that resolution but I think the CPU will slow you down somewhat on CPU dependent games (not sure about C2). SC2 will definitely be slower on the X3 than the i3 I mentioned above.

You're not really going to be using DX11 features with the 5770 since it's a budget card and relatively slow.
June 28, 2011 5:57:43 AM

Hi there,welcome to the forums.