Sign in with
Your question

Need help with getting a motherboard, to fit the ASUS 7970

Last response: in Motherboards
June 15, 2012 4:25:08 AM

I bought an Asus AMD Radeon HD 7970 DirectCU II, long story short it doesn't fit. I doubt I can return it and I do want the card, so I think I could double down and be able to use the card without buying a whole new machine.

My primary concern is that the card physically fits without obscuring necessary ports, or being so cramped it's a nightmare to fit in, it's already going to cost more money and time than I'd anticipated.

I'm not extremely confident about basically building my first PC, but it seems the most practical/cheapest way to actually start using the card would be to buy a new motherboard and case, so that I have enough space. To make this an upgrade, rather than a new PC I'm hoping to transfer everything from my current PC to the new motherboard, so compatibility is a must.

As I said, I'm new to this. I've swapped graphics cards once or twice and RAM, but never everything.

So my question is; will this motherboard (ASUS P8Z68V Pro/Gen3) be compatible with everything I want to use with it, and is transferring it all a possibility? Any other recommendations would be greatly appreciated, and I would also need a new case.

I've got:

Intel i7 2600 (1155)
4 x 2GB DDR3 1,333MHz RAM
ASUS AMD Radeon HD 7970 DirectCU II
Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PCI Express(I care more about the graphics card than this, but if there's room I'm throw this in too.)
Corsair TX 750W V2
2 x 1TB Hard Drives
Blu-Ray Optical Drive

I'll gladly add any more information if it's of use. Any advice would be a godsend, I've gotten in a little over my head.
a c 238 V Motherboard
June 15, 2012 4:43:51 AM

Yes, the card is a three slot monster, but I don't know why it should not fit any atx or m-atx motherboard.
What motherboard do you currently have, and why does it not fit?