Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Please help look over a new all-purpose build ~$1,000

Last response: in Systems
June 28, 2011 3:31:21 PM

Hello All--

I will be attempting my first build next week, and I am an absolute novice at this, so any help will be appreciated. I honestly haven't done as much research as I usually do, because this needs to happen soon, so I am open to suggestions for replacements/improvements, etc...

I have intentionally somewhat overpowered the system, because we tend to keep computers for a very long time, upgrading components, etc... to squeeze more life out of our computers. The computer whose slow and painful death necessitates this purchase is a 2002 Sony VAIO, if that gives you any idea. So I tend to think in terms of upgrade paths, leaving a little wiggle room to add components/RAM/whatever will keep the PC functioning for a little longer.

Approximate Purchase Date: this week or next

Budget Range: $1000

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Research, Light Graphics Work, Gaming, Who knows?

Parts Not Required: monitor -- really need everything else, but OS, productivity software, keyboard not included in budget.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: newegg.com for convenience, but I'm open to other reputable online sources

Country of Origin: US

Parts Preferences: Intel Sandy Bridge and compatible mobos. Stability and reliability are important, so I tend to prefer known reliable brands for other components

Overclocking: Probably, but not excessively -- will trade some performance for longevity

SLI or Crossfire: I want the capability to upgrade when I can afford a second card

Monitor Resolution: I honestly don't know - have a good sized ASUS monitor I haven't even used because I don't think my current system can drive it.

Additional Comments: