thekansasmagic

Distinguished
Jun 29, 2011
Hey guys and gals,

Long time user of Tom's Hardware but first time forum post. I'm a medical student looking to build a gaming system this summer. It's my first build from scratch but it seemed like a fun challenge for the summer plus gaming really helps de-stress after a long day of research, lectures, and clinic. I'd really appreciate the community's input regarding the components I've selected. The set up I have is literally a few cents under my $1500 cap so if you recommend a part that is better but more expensive than one I have listed please be sure to list another part that I can get cheaper to keep under the $1500 limit because obviously I understand that there are better components out there looking at things individually but when building a system you have to compromise in some places to get better performance elsewhere right?

My intentions for this system are for it to serve as a reliable, high-performance gaming rig. Eventually, I want to triple monitor and get a second card. And yes, being my first build, I do like the cheesy LED lights on stuff. When I turn this thing on, I want my room to light up like the fourth of July :) That actually isn't that important to me, but my point is that I'm not specifically looking for low-profile components.

Prices listed from newegg.com
Processor: $219.99 Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 3.3GHz (3.7GHz Turbo Boost) LGA 1155 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor BX80623I52500K
Motherboard: $179.99 ASUS P8P67 PRO (REV 3.0) LGA 1155 Intel P67 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
Graphics Card: $279.99 SAPPHIRE FleX 100312FLEX Radeon HD 6950 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card with ...
Power Source: $129.99 Rosewill BRONZE Series RBR1000-M 1000W Continuous@40°C, 80Plus Bronze Certified,Modular Cable Design,Active PFC"Compatible ...