Sign in with
Your question
Solved

New HAF X front 230mm intake fan fried!! Wiring issue the cause?

Last response: in Components
September 27, 2011 2:01:37 PM

So I have had my new HAF X case for about a week. Last night as I was shutting the computer down to go to bed, smoke starting coming out from the top of the case. I opened both sides of the case up and to my surprise the wiring from the botton 230mm intake fan was fried and withered. It fried both the 4-pin molex wire coming from the fan along with the wire that connects the fan to the front panel LED on/off switch at the top of the case. I'm not a wiring expert so I have no idea what happened or how to avoid it happening again. 1 thing of note is that the 4-pin molex connector wiring coming from the fan was still bunched tightly together with a twisty tie as it was originally packaged being that I didn't bother to untie it. Could that have been my problem? Also, I'm powering my 4 case fans(2x200mm top fans, 140mm back fan, and the 230mm front intake fan) off 1 cord from my PSU(MK Silencer II 750w) that has 4 4-pin molex connectors on it with each fan using 1 of the connectors. I notice my fan power connectors have both female and male connectors, should I have strung my fans together instead of giving them each there own connection to the PSU?

To sum it up my questions are:

-What happened? Freak occurrence or wiring problem on my part?

-Also where is the best place to get a replacement 230mm fan as it appears newegg doesn't have any. Or will any other size fan work/fit where the 230mm goes? 200mm?

Thanks in advance for any help!!

Specs:
HAF X w/ MK Silencer II 750w
i7-950 w/ CM V8 cooler
Gigabyte UD3R
Corsair XMS3 6gb 1600 ddr3
XFX HD6950 2gb
Agility 2 60gb boot
F3 Spinpoint 500gb

September 27, 2011 3:59:48 PM

From searching more about this online it appears it might be faulty I/O wiring on the case. I suppose I will have to attempt to get CoolerMaster to send me a new I/O and fan.
m
l

Best solution