Sign in with
Your question

Radeon HD 4350 Video Card Question

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
April 19, 2011 1:59:48 AM

The Radeon HD 4350 Video Card says that it requires 1GB of system memory. If I only ave 512MB of sytem memory what will happen? I have tried to install the card and upon start up the fan works but my monitor receives no signal, I'm wondering if it could be due to the lack of system memory? Any help would be greatly appreciated. I have an old system and my GEForce2 GST is on its way out and I need to either get this card to work or find another that will. I can and will buy an additional 512MB or RAM if necessary but I do not want to do so if it won't fix the problem. Any input will be greatly appreciated - and yes as you can tell by this posting I am a computer novice.
a c 141 U Graphics card
April 19, 2011 3:25:08 AM

Okay, what type of graphics slot do you have on your motherboard? If you used to have a GeForce 2 it's probably AGP or PCI. Check the packaging on the card and see what interface it uses, AGP or PCI Express. A PCI Express card will not work in a PCI or AGP slot. Even if you only have 512 MB of RAM you should still get a display, running the catalyst control center would probably be difficult under only 512 but the card should display.

Also go into your BIOS and check your chipset settings, make sure the primary graphics adapter is set to AGP and not integrated graphics.
m
l
a c 171 U Graphics card
April 19, 2011 3:31:57 AM

if you only have 512mb system memory your really need to upgrade that regardless. I dont think it should stop it from giving a display, but if the box says it requires 1gb then you should have 1gb or not buy it.
m
l
Related resources
April 19, 2011 11:40:23 AM

Supernova1138 said: