Power fan

jatcat20005

Honorable
Jun 20, 2012
I'm new at building a computer. (this is my first attempt) I have an ASUS F1A75 M LE motherboard. I have a Thermaltake TR2-430 power supply. A warning came up that the power fan has 0 RPM. I didn't see a "plug" for the power fans on the power supply. There is a "pin" plug on the motherboard next to the processor fan. What do I need to do ? Should I plug the chassis fan into the power fan plug on the motherboard? Will that mess up the board? I am also not so familiar with this kind of messaging. How and when will I get the answer?

the 4-pin plug next to the CPU socket is the CPU power plug (actually on your motherboard it's pretty far away from the socket), so if you don't plug that in your CPU won't work. Refer to the motherboard manual as to which 3/4 pin plug to use to plug in your Heat sink fan into, that will give the power to the fan.

I'm guessing the mobo gives you that message because it has to prove non-zero RPM on the CPU fan before powering up the CPU.

Edit: looked up the manual for your mobo, page 11 has the diagram as to which port is for what. I think it might be labeled on the motherboard itself in small print.

jatcat20005

Honorable
Jun 20, 2012

What do you mean "prove non-zero" RPM? I have never had this message before.

I mean that the motherboard needs to prove that the CPU heat sink fan is spinning before starting up the CPU (otherwise it will overheat within minutes). To do so it needs a fan to be connected to the pins at which point the mobo can detect the RPM on the fan, to prove that the fan is working the RPM must be non-zero.

so to answer your question from a different angle, are you using an after market CPU cooler or are you using stock? Where did you plug the fan wires into?

This has NOTHING to do with CPU power, or the CPU fan.