Sign in with
Your question

HTPC for under $500?

Last response: in Systems
July 3, 2011 3:09:34 PM

Hi all, I am in the market for a small and quiet HTPC that I plan to use primarily to stream HD content to my 1080p HDTV via HDMI. I also plan to use it as a HD DVR to records shows off of my OTA antenna (I've cut the cord) and am probably going to start looking into transfering all my DVDs and CDs onto the computer so I can use it as a media jukebox. I had found a prebuilt one I like:

However, I can't help but wonder if I could build a similarly specced one on my own. I should note that this is my first time attempting to build a PC but I feel fairly confident I can do it. I do understand that at this price point I probably will not be able to add the DVR functionality until later and that will probably have to buy an external hard drive but that's fine. Really the most important thing is that the HTPC can run 1080p HD streaming smoothly and supports the current HD lossless audio formats. As stated, $500 is the most I can spend on the hardware as I'll need to buy the software.

At this price point would I able to build a comparable system? Thank you for your time.

More about : htpc 500

July 3, 2011 3:16:37 PM

Hi there, welcome to the forums.
YES! Glad to see a fellow rebel in the fight against cable :) 
Hmm, a tough one. We can certainly do it for $500. No problems whatsoever.
Now, is this going to be an exclusively HTPC machine? Do you ever intend to use it for gaming?
also, what are your size constraints? We are going to go miniITX, but where will you be putting it? Will the box have good airflow in the front & back?

I have an idea of what you need, please get back to me.
July 3, 2011 3:21:13 PM

for that sort of price we can easily get you a solid media PC.

I'm going to suggest we go at a less-than-state-of-the-art basic build that will do eveything you need.

This Athlon II X3 450 combo for $450 has literally everything you need: