Sign in with
Your question

Overheating possibly or bad motherboard reading?

Last response: in CPUs
September 29, 2011 1:01:39 PM

Ok, guys I have been reading forum posts the past few weeks at work in my spare time. I work in the IT field, although not as much now as I use to more of a trainer. Anyways, reading through I found some programs like HWMonitor and Core Temp that monitors temperatures of things like your GPU and CPU using onboard motherboard sensors I believe. I decided to try some out last night and found some interesting things. First things here are my system specs. I built this system approximately a year and a half ago, it's been running solid since then.

Intel Core I7 860 Lynfield 1156 2.8ghz
Asus P7P55D-E P67 Mobo
4gig Corsair Dominator DDR31600mhz
XFX Radeon HD5870 1gig
Corsair HX750 Silver PSU
CoolerMaster HAF 922
Intel X-25M MLC 80Gig SSD
1 TB WD Caviar Black

So after loading up HWMonitor, CoreTemp and AMD Catalyst this is what i found. Under full load (Playing Battlefield 3 beta and Battlefield Bad Company 2) my GPU fan speed is only spinning at about 21-25% running temps of approximately 71C degrees.