Graphics cards that require up to 225W Vidock Please help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

jmfranklin164

Distinguished
Apr 2, 2010
Hello, I am a college student that like to a little light gaming. Being a college student, I am watching my money. I have recently looked into buying a "Vidock 4 Plus" because I have a 1st Gen macbook pro that is unable to handle many games that I would like to play ex: Total War Franchise, and similar games. My first question is has anyone had any experience with the Vidock? If so, what was your experience. My second question is the "Vidock 4 Plus" states "ViDock 4 Plus adds a second 2 x 3 pin power connector to accommodate graphics cards that require up to 225W." With this said, What graphics card do you recommend keeping in mind my needs. I will be buying a new monitor so I am unsure of the resolution that I will be playing at. Thank you for all of the advice. Just another college student trying to game. :hello:

For the price of the Vidock and a video card you can buy a full PC that will handle games better than your macbook. You can put together a gaming PC for $500 or even less if you start out with a used dual-core PC. Plus mac and gaming are not the best of friends, unless you dual-boot the thing to Windows.

My advice, take the cash you are about to drop on a dead-end tech and get a PC for gaming. If you are worried about space, you can get a case like http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16856101115

jmfranklin164

Distinguished
Apr 2, 2010
I was planning on dual booting. I may be forced to use the Vidock because it was my father's idea. And the bulk of my money is his. Is it really that bad of an idea? Wouldn't I be able to buy a better GPU and use the Vidock opposed to start from the ground up and build a new computer? Thanks again for the input. :hello:

jmfranklin164

Distinguished
Apr 2, 2010
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro4,1
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo