ATI HD 6970 Crossfire question

cardician

Distinguished
Apr 21, 2011
Hello,

First, I apologize but this post might be long. I've never Crossfired or SLId cards before so I have a few questions regarding my new setup.

So I just built a new system largely based on the Tom's Hardware build of the month.

Asus P8P67 Deluxe mobo
8gb Gskill DDR3 1600 ram (might up to 16gb soon)
2 ATI HD 6970 in crossfire
i7-2600k chip at 3.4ghz (not OCed yet)

So I put everything together and amazingly everything seems to be working (I almost always have some issue on a new build). Everything is at stock at the moment while I put the computer through it's paces to make sure there are no issues. Then I will begin the fun of OCing things.

However, this is my first time crossfiring and I'm not sure everything is working properly. I went ahead and put both crossfire bridges on the cards. They are installed and running at x8/x8. Both cards do work (I ran them independently earlier in the build process and got video out of both). Here are the weird things I've encountered though.

When I go into the catalyst control center where you can overclock the cards, it shows the first card running with stats as you'd expect. It's temp at idle seems to be in the 40s C and so on. I can also take the fan off auto and ramp it up and hear it get louder. However, when I select the second card on the drop down all the stats drop to 0. As if it knows the card is there but at the same time it's not doing anything. If I ramp it's fan up I also didn't hear an increase in noise. I also looked in GPUZ and don't recall it showing as crossfire set anywhere but I'll have to look more closely. I wasn't looking for it and could have missed it.