Need two cards or one dual port cards to run separate video functions

Jeff1108

Distinguished
Apr 22, 2011
I would appreciate some help with a concept. I have been building my own and others computers for 25 years. Never had the need for this concept.
I have purchased the parts for a fast system, including i7 intel cpu, 16 g ram, etc.
I want to be able to use a /the video card(s) for 2 things running concurrently.
1 – to have movies, etc, that have been recorded into Windows Media Center – Win 7, via uverse to Hauppauge 2250 IN. And then send back to the stand alone TV via a cable existing from a video card (2 gig HIS 5570).

While, at the same time, doing simple word processing, web surfing, etc. – which would go to a simple computer MONITOR.

A dual port graphics card is designed for multiple computer monitors. Obvious enough.

I have the impression I would need a second video card, with its own unused ports, to do my standard computer functions, visible on a separate computer monitor, while the other TV / movie functions, which are coming in from the Uverse or cable set top box are underway – separately.

The quad core CPU and all around new and fast system should be able to allow multiple computing functions concurrently – but my question is how to set up the requisite video card or cards necessary to serve both video functions concurrently.

If I can plug one port into the TV (HDMI) and the other port (DVI) into the computer monitor, that would be great. (It even references “hardware acceleration decode of dual 1080p HD video streams”

But I don’t know if one card can handle both functions concurrently.

I don’t object to the cost of another card. The 2 gig HIS 5570 is only around $70.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004GUS5DO

or the cost of a dual port card. - $180
HIS has a newer card with built in dual ports. – the \
HIS Radeon HD 6850 1 GB (256bit) GDDR5 Eyefinity Display Port HDMI 2x