Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Should I get a cheap placeholder processor waiting for ivy bridge?

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
October 2, 2011 12:45:52 AM

Hi! I need a strong build since I need to do some CAD and video editing (some gaming on the side too :D  ) for 2nd semester of school, but I cant wait till then to build it since I need to replace my ailing Intel Pentium dual core from 2007 (which was a basic office pc). I'm buying a z68 board and want to buy a core i5 2500k but I know ivy bridge is coming out soon. As stated before, I literally cant wait for late Q1 2012 since I need a machine NOW. My question is, should I buy all the other components and buy a cheap ($50) celeron LGA 1155 now as a place holder while I wait (IB will use 1155 too & since as a student, I cant afford to buy a $220 cpu now then buy one again later)? I mean I know IB is just a die shrink, but it will support dx 11, be more power, performance and heat efficient than SB. Or do you guys have another suggestions? Ivy bridge is so close.......I feel like im going to buy SB then have sandy bridge come out half a month later =/

My other parts Im about to get (feel free to suggest replacements that might be better for same or cheaper price):
XFX HD-687A-ZHFC Radeon HD 6870 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 $170
Western Digital Caviar Blue WD5000AAKX 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb $35
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) $27
ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Motherboard $125
Undecided, around 600w powersupply (possibly an Antec modular one) ~$63

Thanks!

PS: I know Celeron's performance is laughable, but its cheap placeholder and gets the work done for everyday computing.
October 2, 2011 1:54:11 AM

I would just get the i5 2500k... You'd have plenty of time to save up between now and Ivy Bridge. Then you can sell the i5 for a small return :) 
m
l
a b à CPUs
October 2, 2011 1:57:48 AM