MSI Z77A-GD65 or GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H?

Status
Not open for further replies.

setzer715

Honorable
Mar 6, 2012
I'm seeking a new motherboard. I'm over my ASRock P67 E4 G3. It has had nothing but USB3.0 issues since the day I got it and ASRock can't seem to get it fixed. Something about Etron controllers just suck. I transfer quite a bit of data to and from flashdrives and external HDD's. Anyway, moving on I'm in the market for a new one and I've narrowed it down to the 2 in the title.

I have no experience with either brand so I'm looking for input on which would be best. I'm planing to OC (I'm new to it and still reading/learning) so that is a factor. I currently only have 1 GPU but may add a second one day. System build is below.

If anyone has any suggestions that would be great. Or if you can suggest a different board in the ~$200 range that would be cool too. I'm a little scared of ASUS as the reviews are riddle with bent pin horror stories (including one my own, bought a z68 from frys and it had bent pins but was fortunately able to return it due it not posting once the pins were fixed by their tech).

CPU: i5-2500K
MOBO: ASRock Extreme4 Gen3 (Replacing)
RAM: 4 x 4GB G.Skill Raptor X DDR3 1600
GPU: MSI Twin Frozr 560 TI OC/2GB Edition
SSD: Corsair ForceGT 120GB
HDD: Seagate 2TB Green Drive
PSU: Silverstone 750W
CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS20LQ Water Cooler
Cooling: 5 B-Gears 120mm B-Blaster (110CFM) fans connected to Rheosmart controller (adjusts fan speed based off CPU PWM reading). 3 intake 2 out (couldn't fit 6th fan with new zalman water cooler).

setzer715

Honorable
Mar 6, 2012