• New Build
  • Sims
  • Gaming
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
July 8, 2011 2:48:37 PM

Approximate Purchase Date: Late August/Early September

Budget Range: Looking to spend under 1000$

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming (Sims 2 and 3, Casual games), Multitasking, movies

Parts Not Required: keyboard, mouse speakers, OS

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg (the only websit I really know of)

Country of Origin: Tennessee, USA

Parts Preferences: I have only ever used Intel but a friend of mine suggested Asus*.

Overclocking: I have no idea*

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe

Monitor Resolution: 1024x768, 1280x1024

Additional Comments: I would like for it to be as quiet as possible. I would also like for it to last at least until Sims 4 if that's even possible.

* I have never built my own PC before. So I'm not really sure where to start. I've tried reading up on some of the topic here and through google but I keep getting stuck on the confusion that is the CPU/PSU.

I was told by a friend and at a Sims 3 forum I visit that building a computer would be less expensive in the long run because Sims 3 isn't really serious gaming. I basically want a computer that will run my game smoothly and look nice.

I really wanted a gaming laptop or pre built computer but was told:
a) laptops are not good for gaming
b) it would be more expensive to buy a laptop/pre-built pc

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

More about : starting build sims gaming computer

Best solution

a b 4 Gaming
July 8, 2011 4:45:08 PM

Hi! First, let me say that your friend is right about both of those things. Laptops aren't the best for gaming due to the fact that they don't support the higher end graphics cards. Although for your gaming purposes, a laptop is sufficient (Get one with a Llano processor). And IT IS more expensive to buy a prebuilt system.