ADSL USB modem query

Cyrus

Distinguished
Apr 17, 2004
I heard from a friend of mine that a PC can have multiple USB ADSL modems at once. Correct?

Consider it is.
Will the system use all the modems' bandwidth simultaneously or just route to the less loaded one? In other word, will the total bandwith be the sum of all connections' or still limited by the maximum of each?

If one of the modems suddenly fails, what will happen to the connection which use the modem? Will it reroute to the other one or disconnected too?

My background is I'm planning on having a gateway for my net-cafe which's gonna use a new ADSL product. And after some considerations the choice of using multiple modems has many more benefits than the drawbacks.

Btw, in term of capability, stability and hardware reliability, can a laptop be used as a gateway server? Also can its PSU hold the power consumption of many USB modems?

Thanks in advance.

folken

Distinguished
Sep 15, 2002
The modems don't have to be usb. You could have more than one of any modem. I actually would advise not getting usb modems, they suck :)
If you want to actually get say 2 1.5mb dsl connections you would need to have 2 phone lines and pay for service on each phone line. Then have one modem on each line.
With a multiple modem setup you would have lots of options. Routing different services through different connections (Can be done in windows, linux, and with fancy network hardware). Making one a failover (I think windows can do this, linux, fancy network hardware). Making one a spillover (Windows, linux, fancy network hardware). Making them load balanced (fany scripts in linux, extremely fancy network hardware).