Budget gaming build, need help finding PSU & checking parts

bkc1014

Distinguished
Jul 8, 2011
Approximate Purchase Date: within the next week or so

Budget Range:400-600

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, Digital Audio Workstation, Photo/video editing

Parts Not Required: monitor, mouse & keyboard, OS

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: newegg.com, tigerdirect.com

Country of Origin: USA

Parts Preferences:

Overclocking: Maybe (depends on if I have to buy an aftermarket fan/heatsink)

SLI or Crossfire: No

Monitor Resolution: Not very sure how to determine what resolution I should use. I have a 19" 720p TV/Monitor currently, if that has any effect on what resolution I should use..

Additional Comments: I'm going for low priced, around mid level gaming pc, and upgradability.

I've selected a few parts already but I'm not exactly sure if they're all optimal(I'm a newb, go easy on me haha :D ). Here they are:

Case: Rosewill CHALLENGER Black Gaming ATX Mid Tower Computer Case, comes with Three Fans $50

MOBO: BIOSTAR A870U3 AM3 AMD 870 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard $65.

Gfx card: SAPPHIRE 100287L Radeon HD 5670 (Redwood) 512MB 128-bit DDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 $73 before rebate, $63 after

Ram: G.SKILL NS 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) $32

Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz $120 with promo code

Dvd burner & HDD combo: LITE-ON DVD Burner - Bulk Black SATA Model iHAS124-04 - OEM $72.50 combo

Before MIR, promo codes, tax & shipping, the pricetag is $422.43
Grand total(including MIR, promo, tax & shipping) : $440.80 **so far, w/o a PSU**

Power supply: As for psu, I have no idea how to select one. I need help finding one that is (relatively) low in price, reliable, and can power my system adequately.

Rosewill Power supply(will it work for my system?)- Rosewill RV2-500 500 W ATX12V v2.2 / EPS12V SLI Ready Power Supply