Can I install an intell 2 duo core processor in my pc?

dathip

Distinguished
Oct 6, 2011
You have to forgive me folks since it is my first time on tom'ss hardware and I will be polite. :pfff:

I need to upgrade for gaming and my pc compaq presario 061 has a intel celeron D CPU 3.33GHz. I want to upgrade to like a intel duo core processor like these on amazon. Will it work. I dont wanna be all paranoid inputing them in my pc or scared. here is the link http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_i_2_9?field-keywords=intel+dual+core+processor&url=search-alias%3Daps&x=0&y=0&sprefix=intel+dua

Thanks guys

my mother board is an ATI RS400/RC400/RC410 and southbridge is SB400. BTW can you suggest another option instead of telling me to buy another pc.

From what I can find on the net this Board and CPU are for a laptop. That's what Google's telling me. Could you send a link to the actual model of your PC from the HP site? That would be a lot more easier to figure out then from the specs you have listed here.

BlacKHawK3

Distinguished
Oct 4, 2011
According to HP:

Supports the following processors:
Pentium D 900 series Dual Core up to 950 (Pressler, 65nm)
Pentium D 800 series Dual Core (Smithfield, 90nm)
Pentium 4 601 series up to 661 (Cedar Mill, 65nm)
Pentium 4 600 series up to 650 (Prescott, 90nm)
Pentium 4 500 series up to 551 (Prescott, 90nm)
Celeron D up to 360 (Cedar Mill, 65nm)
Celeron D up to 355 (Prescott, 90nm)

dathip

Distinguished
Oct 6, 2011

THank THANK THANK YOU BLACKHAWK. That means i need to upgrade to my motherboard. I was wondering if you can upgrade your pc to any motherboard with intel 2 duo core capable like this. LIke I said thanks man. http://www.amazon.com/Foxconn-Intel-Micro-Motherboard-G41MX-/dp/B00353CWPA/ref=sr_1_12?ie=UTF8&qid=1317932855&sr=8-12

BlacKHawK3

Distinguished
Oct 4, 2011

I prefer Biostar for budget boards but that would work fine.