Newbie Needs Case Help!

awkiii

Distinguished
Jul 9, 2011
I am a newbie and would like to build my first machine.

I would like to build a "media machine" for the lack of a better term.

I am a professional photographer and would like a DVD optical drive, media card reader, HD video and top quality audio output.

Would use the machine to store and manipulate images, hold my music collection and be able to hook it up to a HD TV.

A friend is running Unbuntu Linux on his machine which I just saw for the first time. It is awesome and would like to give it a shot.

I prefer the small footprint of the ITX as I really would like to get away from the big tower thing.

I need to start with the case. Considering the above, I would like a case which is stunning in appearance. Something that looks like a high-end piece of audio equipment if it exists.

Thanks for the help!

I can't give a detailed answer without a budget but i can give you some guidelines.

CPU: You don't need anything to crazy here, i think the i3-2100T would be a good solution. It has low power consumption and the integrated graphics will be great for your needs.

Motherboard: Any Mini-ITX motherboard with HDMI output and a PCI slot should be ok. ASUS P8H61-I perhaps.

RAM: I think 4GB of something reasonably priced would do fine here, some of the lower end branded (Corsair, G.Skill etc.) RAM should be best so you don't have to deal with tall heat spreaders.

Graphics: The integrated graphics on that CPU should be plenty, also works out cheaper and consumes less power than a discrete GPU. This also frees up the PCI slot for a sound card.

Hard Drive: I would go with something low power (5400rpm) and high capacity such as the Hitachi Deskstar 3TB. Or a smaller drive if you don't need all that space.

Case: Looks really are subjective but just have a look through the Mini ITX and HTPC cases on Newegg and see what you like. 2 x 5.25'' bays would be handy so you can get a card reader and a DVD or Blu Ray drive.