Upgrade Or Start From Scratch (Development Machine)

chrispepper1989

Distinguished
Jul 6, 2011
Hi Guys,

I recently started a thread on what graphics card to get and it has snowballed to well if im going to get that, i'm going to need this, maybe i should get that...etc.

As it stands I'm already considering a new CPU, a new GPU, more RAM, and a new SSD, so its starting to look like i might aswell start from scratch. But im a big fan of upgrading over buying a whole new system and really i want to keep the budget at £500.

but the current component list im looking at, come in at about £340, if i throw in another SSD thats £420 so then i think i might aswell pick up a MoBo for £80/£90 but then im thinking what about my current DDR2 RAM would I have to throw it out and get DDR3?? what about my current 560 watt PSU? will i need more juice?

I'm a software developer and i really want to cut down on my compiling times so i think is should go for some SSDs but as i am planning on doing some UT3 Development through the UDK as part of a hobbyist team I really could do with a graphics boost and generally more speed to handle it. So what do you guys think? I'm actually terrible when it comes to all things hardware so forgive any out right stupidity.

This is my current system (i can provide more details if need be)

CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3800+
MotherBoard: ASUS M2N-E
RAM: Corsair Heat sinked DDR2 (3 X 1Gb)
PSU: Hyper QC something that delivers 560 wattage.
GPU: GeForce 7900 GT/GTO
Harddrive: SAMSUNG HD103SJ SCSI (1TB 7200RPM)

And so far im considering:
CPU: AMD Athlon II X4 645, Quad Core Processor (which apparently my motherboard will support
RAM: 2GB DDR2 PC2-6400 (800) Single Channel Desktop Memory (2 X 2GB, replacing 1 of my 1GB, to take me up to 6Gb)
GPU EVGA GTX460 SSC Super SuperClock NVIDIA Graphics Card - 1GB
Harddrive: OCZ 60GB Vertex 2E SSD - Solid State Drive (x2 on RAID)