Status
Not open for further replies.

NinjaDude03

Distinguished
Apr 30, 2011
Hey guys, yesterday I posted a question about the GTX 460. I was told that the 5850 was a much better card for only a couple bucks more, but to use it I need to upgrade my PSU. So I'm wondering what power supply to get. The card requires a 500 W power supply and I need more to power everything else. So what supply should get? Should I stick with the GTX 460 or the 550 Ti and just forget the 5850? I'm a total PC noob so I'm sort of lost here:p

vilenjan

Distinguished
Aug 22, 2010

Current ATI/AMD card are a bit more efficient than Nvidia counterparts. a 5850 consumes as much power a stock 460GTX, a 560Ti is faster, but consumes more power.

A 460GTX is a shorter card, so that could make a difference as well depending on your case.

Either way, a you will want a PSU with at least 40A on the 12v rail or maybe a pair of 25A 12v rails.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817341017

Good PSU right there for a great price!

A single reference clocked GeForce GTX 460 has a Maximum Graphics Card Power 160 Watts. This means the card will draw up to a maximum of 13.3 Amps from the +12 Volt rails.

A single reference clocked Radeon HD 5850 has a Maximum board power of 151 Watts. This means the card will draw up to a maximum of 12.6 Amps from the +12 Volt rails.

A minimum of a 450 Watt or greater system power supply with a minimum +12 Volt current rating of 24 Amps or greater is recommended for either one of those single graphics card configurations. The power supply must also have at least two 6-pin PCI Express Supplementary power connectors.

Select from reputable power supply name brands such as Antec, Corsair, Enermax, Seasonic, XFX.

You haven't specified a budget or whether you want a modular power supply unit.

vilenjan

Distinguished
Aug 22, 2010