Sign in with
Your question

Upgrading an ASUS P5N-e SLi M/B

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
October 10, 2011 1:58:49 PM

Hi! Newbie here (to this forum and Tom's support circles) so, please be kind!...lol

I have the above motherboard and would like to know how far I can go with it in terms of CPU as it's getting tired in relation to the games I want to play; can anybody advise me on the best option, please?

I've not got 100's/1000's to spend and would rather upgrade the CPU (assuming I'll see the benefits) than have to construct an entire unit, if you take my point?

I have Vista Ultimate (spit!) 32bit Service Pack 2 and 8 GB of RAM

I'm new to this public notice malarky so, please be kind and if you want additional information, please advise and I will do my best to supply.

Oh and with nu UK call numbers and a really rubbish WWW site, have been sorely disappointed by ASUS on this subject, after 15 years of using their products only and now considering moving away from ASUSS if there's better out there without having to sell small children to get !

Many thanks,

Alan.

More about : upgrading asus p5n sli

a b à CPUs
October 10, 2011 3:38:27 PM

You have Vista 32-bit and 8GB of RAM? You do know that over 4GB there is wasted right? Anyway, check your CPU support

http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/Intel_Socket_775/P5NE_...

Looks like your board supports 45nm Core 2 duos, but not the 45nm quads. You can go with a Q6600 or an E8500 and overclock them. You also need to upgrade your OS to a 64-bit version to be able to use all that RAM. If you feel like experimenting you can use the Windows 8 build (it's a little unstable ^_^) rather than buying an OS until they release Windows 8. If you have the money you can go with a Sandy Bridge build though. What's you're budget?
a b à CPUs
October 10, 2011 3:39:15 PM

By the way, as for your trouble with ASUS I blame that on user error. Yes their support could be better, but they do make some of the best gamer products.