Help with General Building compatibility

xcgix

Distinguished
Jul 13, 2011
Hi everyone,

Just after some help regarding a new desktop build. I will preface with the fact that I am no expert, so any help with the following build config and supplementary questions at the bottom would be greatly appreciated. :)

Firstly, Purpose

Main purpose: will be working fast in & rendering scenes from Maya, after effects render sequences, video encoding, compression/decompression

Secondary Purpose: Gaming of course (so this will write off a quadro GCARD [even though this was never financially feasible])

Looking to overclock the 2600k to around 4.2 - 4.5 GHz.

So im currently looking at getting the following parts:

CASE: NZXT Phantom ATX Full Tower Case White
CPU: Intel Core i7-2600k
MOBO: ASUS P8Z68-V PRO
RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws 16GB (4x 4GB) DDR3 KIT
GCARD: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 570 OC (Rev 2.0) - GDDR5 1280MB 320-Bit VRAM
Main HD: OCZ Agility 3 - 60GB - 2.5" SATA3 SSD
Sec HD: Western Digital Caviar Black - 1TB SATA 3 6Gb/s
PSU: Corsair HX-750 750W Professional Series Power Supply
COOL: Antec KUHLER H2O 920 CPU Cooler

So just 4 basic questions in closing:

1. Is this water cooling system overkill for a possible 4.5 overclock?

2. Are any parts of the system overkill for my intended purposes?

3. Will this RAM support large AIR coolers, thus enabling me to get a cheaper air cooler instead of the water cooling system?

4. Does the PSU have enough grunt to run the spec'd system? (as i prefaced, I'm no expert when it comes to this, but through Google i have found this to be fine, just checking...)

Finally the novel ends... God, its going to be a miracle if anyone reads this through haha, help will be appreciated :)

Solution