Sign in with
Your question

OC'ing AMD Athlon II x3 @ 2.7 ghz stock first time CPU OC

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
October 13, 2011 3:51:17 AM

So this is my first time thinking of OC'ing my CPU its a triple core Athlon II @ a stock 2.7 ghz, the only experience I have with OCing is with my card stock 775 mhz clock pushed to 840 mhz.

I know how multipliers and everything works how to OC in my BIOS etc, but I have a mini-ATX MOBO and I was wondering if that would be something to worry about. I don't want ot push it too high since it has a stock fan but I was thinking of maybe pushing to 3.0 ghz, I know it can run stable as high as 3.6 ghz with a proper fan but since my fan is stock atm I obviously don't want to push it hard just some bonus performance.

Here are my stock settings on the CPU any recommended clocks to push from these would be appreciated

core speed: 2712.3mhz

multipler x13.5

Bus speed 200.9 mhz

HT Link 803.7 mhz

Core volatage: 1.328v

AMD Athlon II x3 425 @ 2.7 ghz

Ram: 4G DDR3 @ 1333 mhz

Video Card: HD Radeon 5670 OC'd

Power Supply: 450w Corsair

MOBO: Foxxconn mini-atx
October 13, 2011 4:10:44 AM

So I guess I would be looking to push the bus speed to 222 or if its increments of 5 I guess 225 mhz to get the clock I want, would I need to up my voltage at all for this much of an OC? And would I need to lower my ram speed etc?
m
l
a b à CPUs
October 13, 2011 4:19:21 AM

Here's a primer, albeit its a little older but would apply to your CPU:
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/amd-cpu-overclock,2...