Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Simulating Neural Networks using GPGPU computing

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
May 7, 2011 10:37:04 PM

Hi all,

I have a few questions regarding GPGPU computing that I am very hopeful you all will be able to help me with. I am a graduate student getting my PhD in neuroscience and a major component of my work is simulating large scale neural networks that represent recordings I have performed on real neurons. Our lab is currently investing in a few Tesla systems that will be used to perform highly parallel simulations that we used to outsource to larger computational resources on campus.

My major goal here is to build myself a new system where I will be able to test my CUDA code before I run it on the bigger system. I would also like to not spend my entire life in the lab, so having a rig at home where I can do some of my work would be favorable. In addition, I occasionally have time to play games and would like my system to be able to perform decently with most modern titles.

I am going to lay out a couple of the options that I have put together so far and would really appreciate any comments the community could provide on the viability of any of the combinations. I am mostly torn between deciding on the GTX 400 or 500 series and determining whether I want to throw more money down for an Intel CPU or to stick with the lower cost AMD solution.

Theoretical System 1:

2 x EVGA GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) SSC+ 1GB 256-bit GDDR5

1 x ASUS P8P67 WS REVOLUTION LGA 1155 Intel P67 / NVIDIA NF200 (16x, 16x, 8x, 8x)

1 x Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 3.3GHz (3.7GHz Turbo Boost)

1 x G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600

1 x CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W

Theoretical System 2:

2 x EVGA SuperClocked GeForce GTX 560 Ti (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5

1 x ASUS M4N98TD EVO AM3 NVIDIA nForce 980a SLI ATX AMD Motherboard *listed wrong mobo

1x AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition 3.2GHz