Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Compatibility Questions with CPU/GPU Upgrade

Last response: in Systems
July 17, 2011 11:49:27 PM

A little under a year ago I built my first computer by hand. It was a great learning experience and despite having some faulty RAM that took an additional month of testing to deduce being the problem, I enjoyed it. Now I'm looking to upgrade both my CPU and GPU.

Here's what I have:

Gigabyte GA-770T-USB3 Version F1
AMD Phenom II X4 955
ATI Radeon HD 5770
OCZ FATAL1TY 550W ATX12V 20/24PIN
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333

Now what I'm looking to upgrade to is:

AMD Phenom II X6 1100T Black Edition
Radeon HD 6950

Now as earlier mentioned, I am new to the self building, so please excuse my ignorance with all this. I just have a few questions I was hoping someone could help with:

1. Motherboard - The biggest thing is this, according to the Gigabyte site they support the AMD 1100T, however with an update to bios version F4. I can download said update off their site, but they also have a nice warning accompanying it that states flashing your bios is risky and should not be done if your machine is stable. Now yes, it is stable, but I apparently will need the update to support the new CPU. So when should I do the update? I assume the update would still support my current setup, so is there any real reason to not do it right away, and work out any kinks that may crop up before I do the upgrade? Or do I wait until the day of physical install, update the bios, shut-down and install the new cpu?