Budget PC, Beginner Builder

hopalongenator

Distinguished
Jul 18, 2011
Hello all,

I'm looking at building a gaming pc on a uni students budget. Say, around $600, $700, although cheaper is always better. I was also hoping to purchase it fairly soon. The build i'm toying with at the moment is:

CPU - i5 - 2400
GPU - 1G Radeon 6850 Powercolor
Mobo - AsRock H61M-VS
Ram - 8G DDR3 1333 G.Skill-NT
Hard Drive - Samsung 1T SATA
Case - Thermaltake V4
PS - 450W (Included in case)
OS - Windows 7
Reusing monitor, keyboard/mouse and headset.
Not fussed about overclocking or crossfire, just want something easy that will give me decent performance.
Monitor resolution is 1440 x 900.

This all sits at $642 from my local parts outlet (MSY Australia, msy.com.au) where I will be purchasing the build. Seeing as this is my first time building my own, i'm not too sure on a few details. Which processor, between 2400, 2500 or 2500k? What would be a good motherboard for this set up (as i simply chose the cheapest that would fit everything)? How could I (relatively) future proof it without breaking the bank too much?

Many Thanks,

Hoppy.

coleam45

Distinguished
Aug 30, 2010
For your budget, an AMD build might be better. Just get an AM3+ motherboard to give you compatibility with Bulldozer when it comes out. That'll open you up to a more feature-rich motherboard and a better graphics card. Looking at MSY's parts list though, this may not be an option. They have a really lousy selection of AM3+ boards.

You could go with the Phenom II 955BE ($117) and the Asus M4A89TD-Pro-USB3 ($165) for a total of $685, but then you'd want to tack on a heat sink so that you can overclock (very easy with the Phenoms), and you're over budget or close. There are other options for AM3+ motherboards with the right features at a lower price, but MSY doesn't carry them.