Windows 7 Upgrade problem - Urgent!

luminouslime

Distinguished
May 31, 2011
Hello!

Tomorrow I am building a new gaming computer (I've ordered all of the parts). However, I have recently ordered a Windows 7 Professional disc from Software4students and I notice that it is an upgrade edition. After calling both microsoft and Software4students - they tell me that I need an OS installed on the computer before I can install it. Problem - I don't have any other keys. I've been using a mac for 5 years whilst my family has used PC - I have a windows vista disc, but the key has already been used so I can't upgrade from that. I have tried searching for a product key - but with no success.

Help?! What can I do so that I can have a working system without paying over £100 to get a new Win7 Full edition?

Thanks in advance.

(I know this is in the wrong place but this is really urgent)

jackspeed

Distinguished
Jun 29, 2011
well this is against EULA (not sure if it is legal) but you could install the upgrade as a custom and not activate it then upgrade that installation and activate it.

This is the correct way You could buy a windows vista or xp disk and upgrade it.

I used my student upgrade (via TheUltimateSteal.com) and did a custom install and then entered the product key when asked for it. It activated just fine, and I've even done clean installs with it when I upgraded parts of my computer.

In short, go ahead and give it a shot. It may still work even though Microsoft says it won't.

luminouslime

Distinguished
May 31, 2011
Oh really? That gives me some encouragement - Was it a disc with like a copper coloured ring around the outside? - mine says October 2009 systems student media - is that what you had?

Sorry to be annoying, just really nervous about this :p

Mine was actually a download, so I'm not sure if they were the same. Unless you can return it and buy a full version, I'd just give installing what you have a shot.