Distinguished
Mar 2, 2008
Current Build:

Gigabyte p35 ds3l
Q6600@3.3ghz
4gb DDR2 800mhz
GTX 280
Antec Earthwatts 500watts

I built and OC'd this computer, so I'm not a complete noob (only partial).

Question:
I'm considering upgrading my GPU for new games coming out (Witcher 2, Rage, Battlefield 3, etc). If I upgrade, I will get a much stronger card (GTX 580, 570, HD6970, etc). Will my system run be able to run one of these cards or should I just build a new one?

I"m not worried about power issues. I can always drop in a new PSU.

Is anyone out there running a new GPU on an older Mobo and CPU like I'm proposing? I suspect gaming is almost all GPU, and a Q6600@3.3ghz isn't that weak.

I appreciate the help.

A Q6600 at 3.3ghz is still pretty good. It may still bottleneck the highest end card like the ones you mentioned a bit in the more CPU intensive current games but I wouldn't say it is a reason to avoid those cards.
If you can afford a full upgrade though it isn't a bad idea. An i5-2400, an ok H61 motherboard for it and 4gb of DDR3 would be right around $300. i5-2500k + P67 mb + ram closer to $400.

That depends...
Ordinarily, I would say get the new GPU and see how it does. You won't have wasted your money, since you'd be getting the new GPU for a new rig anyway.
In this case, how much would you want to maintain your current system as a backup / alternate to your [new] primary? If you don't care to have two PCs, then you'll want to build the new rig very soon, so your total budget may alter what GPU you can afford.