Sign in with
Your question

Corsair XMP increasing CPU temps

Last response: in Memory
July 12, 2012 12:36:43 AM

Hey folks,

I bought some new RAM, replacing my old 4 gigs of G. Skill to 8 GB Corsair Vengeance (4x2) 1600 mhz. CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9B

Upon install, I opened up BIOS. The memory was clocked at 1333 mhz. The RAM was auto clocked, so that's cool. I changed memory profile to "profile 1," saved, quit, went to the desktop.

Normally my CPU temps when internet browsing/idling are about 33-37 degrees C. Pretty normal. With the new RAM and XMP in place, my CPU temps on idle were up to 45-50 degrees C. Again, safe, but much too high for idling.

Is that normal? I've never tried xmp before, but that seems kinda ridiculous.
I went back into BIOS and put the RAM back to auto clock (1333mhz) and surely enough CPU temps once back at desktop were down to their regular mid 30's.

What's going on here?

Thanks for the help!

EDIT: my MOBO: Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3
processor: intel i7 860 @ 2.80 ghz (stock speeds)

UPDATE: I played various games (WoW, D3, BC2) and none pushed my processor to dangerous levels (max 64 degrees C). It just idles really warm...
July 12, 2012 5:31:37 AM

i found this link: http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/269314-30-drastically...

apparently it's the motherboard?

EDIT: so i read through the link here, and per suggestion found that the idling CPU core voltage was higher with XMP active (roughly .88V without XMP and 1.14 with). It is likely that this is leading to the higher temps.

EDIT 2: so I tried upping the RAM frequency from 1333mhz to 1600 mhz manually. and wouldn't you know it, the CPU core voltage went back up to 1.136.

Must the CPU voltage go up with RAM frequency? this seems odd.