$800-$1000 Gaming PC, need feedback/help/suggestion.

kitchenraider

Distinguished
Jul 20, 2011
Hey! I'm pretty new to purchasing and building my own build but I've been asking around a lot and asking a few friends of mine for some help. So far I've come across this setup.

General information:

Region: Canada
Main uses: Gaming (Doesn't need to be MAX settings on games like Crysis 1-2, I am fine with Mid-high settings on games like Starcraft 2, Diablo 3, Guild Wars 3, Battlefield 3, etc.) I do multi-task on occasion (multiple videos, tabs, programs while gaming). Mild-movie viewing and once-a-month-multimedia stuff (video editing & Photoshop).
Crossfire/SLI: No
OC: Yes
Monitor: Currently 1280x1024, planning to upgrade to Dell U2311H (23" @ 1920x1080) & might use dual-monitor/Eyefinity.
Purchase date: Preferred mid-august. If needed, it can wait seeing as there are still some upcoming summer sales on NCIX. But I am hoping I get to purchase it with the best deal (free shipping, rebates, discounts, PM, ETC) and before the end of summer.

Build specs:

MOBO: Intel P67 or ASUS P8P67 or ASUS P8P67 PRO
CPU: i5 2500k (comes with free shipping for entire order) Link
CPU cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 plus
GPU: Gigabyte Radeon HD6950 Link
RAM: Kingston 2x4 (8GB) DDR3 1333mhz or G.Skill Ripjaws x F3 2x4 (8GB) DDR3 1333mhz
PSU: Antec High Current Gamer 520w Link
HDD: WD Black 1TB, wanted the Samsung F3 but NCIX doesn't have that so it cant go with the free shipping from the CPU deal.
CASE: Cooler Master HAF 912 Link (I will remove the mid-HDD bay to fit the GPU) xD

Any changes, insight, comments are appreciated.

Links on demand, I will try to pricematch most of the items on various sites such as: NCIX.ca, Newegg.ca, directcanada.ca, memoryexpress.com, tigerdirect.ca, etc. anything within canada.

My main concern is to achieve the best "bang for buck" and for the build to last for several years, to be somewhat "future-proof" with minor upgrades.

Thank you!

Solution