UPS capacity required for high-end PSU

engr_jpo

Distinguished
Oct 9, 2011
My goal is to understand if my existing UPS can accommodate a high-end PSU, or if I should set my sights to a relatively lower end PSU. I want to know what my options are.

My existing UPS is a Kebos PowerGarde 1200VA. The output VAC is 220VAC+/-10% (auto sensing). See here: http://www.kebostech.net/product/category/2/4/8/12.

I plan to upgrade my PSU to an Antec HPC 1200W. See here: http://blog.antec.com/power-supplies/technical-finesse-the-high-current-pro-hcp-1200/.

Questions:

1. Will my existing UPS be able to handle this new PSU?

2. The output of the UPS is still 220VAC+/-10%. Does it actually matter that it has a maximum capable load of 1200VA?

3. What's the point in saying (does it really matter) that a UPS can handle 1200VA vs. 600VA, etc., if the output VAC is still 220VAC+/-10%?

4. Should I get a (relatively) lower end PSU that my UPS can handle?

Solution
Well, i am not that good with electrics, but i will give it a shot.

You PC does not know where the power is coming from, all it needs is the power. So when you normally connect the PC to the wall, it delivers a power of 220V. So the output of the UPS also has to be the same to make the PC work. Like in my country the normal specification is 220V@60Hz. In US i think it is 110V@50Hz.

The 1200VA is the maximum rating of power it can handle. In this case your PC. Look up Volt-Ampere and you may have some idea.

admir00

Distinguished
Oct 2, 2011
your UPS can handle the PSU, In case you have a power outage, your backup would just deplete faster, depending on the current draw of your PC itself.
at my former job we had a server running with a similar UPS, never had issues.

I dont think it would matter much. Only your backup time would go down or up, depending on what your PC's total power usage is. Don't look at your PSU, just calculate what your total power consumption is of the PC.