Please review build and see if it'll work.

Sylvynn

Distinguished
Jul 21, 2011
Hi everybody! I'm searching for a computer and I built this one (theoretically) and, since I'm not very tech savvy (otherwise I'd build my own) I was just wondering if these components would be compatible with each other and end in a working system. Thanks!

Zephyr Intel P67 Core i5/i7 Configurator

Case: NZXT Phantom Full Tower Gaming Case - Black

Case Lighting: Sleeved LED Case Lighting - Blue

iBUYPOWER Labs - Noise Reduction: None

iBUYPOWER Labs - Internal Expansion: [6-Port] NZXT Internal USB Expansion System

Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-2600K Processor (4x 3.40GHz/8MB L3 Cache)

Processor Cooling: Thermaltake SpinQ CPU Cooling Fan System

Memory: 16 GB [4 GB X4] DDR3-1600 Memory Module - Corsair Vengeance

Video Card: AMD Radeon HD 6950 - 2GB - Single Card

Motherboard: [SLI] ASUS P8P67 PRO -- 3x PCI-E 2.0 x16, On-Board Bluetooth

Power Supply: 850 Watt -- CoolerMaster RS850-AMBAJ3-US - ** Back2School Sale! ** FREE Upgrade to CoolerMaster 1000W

Primary Hard Drive: 1 TB HARD DRIVE -- 32M Cache, 7200 RPM, 6.0Gb/s - Single Drive

Optical Drive: 24X Dual Format/Double Layer DVD±R/±RW + CD-R/RW Drive - [Lightscribe Technology] Black

Flash Media Reader / Writer: 12-In-1 Internal Flash Media Card Reader/Writer - Black

Sound Card: Creative Labs Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio

Network Card: Killer Xeno Pro Gaming Network Card

Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium + Office Starter 2010 (Includes basic versions of Word and Excel) - 64-Bit

Solution
I would start by saying, putting together a computer is much easier than you would imagine. Think of it as playing with legos. As far as the build goes here are my two cents.
CPU- drop down the the 2500k as the hyperthreading offer no benefit to gaming
PSU- look for a corsair seasonic antec or other reliable brand, for a single card setup (assuming that you are not going to cf thos 6950's) 650w is plenty.