Need ground in house what should i do?

Status
Not open for further replies.

justinadelman

Distinguished
Oct 19, 2011
Hello,
I'm not sure this is the right title, catagory. i have an old house and i have no ground wire. just 1 pos and 1 nuetral. i have an ups 350 model, basic surge protecters (6 plug)500v. and the option of gfi outlets installed. i havnt done the research on installing my own ground but ive heard thats big time $ and time. I habe 4 desktop gaming pcs and 1 laptop. how can i protect my pc life/business from surges or other unstable ground related consequences. thank you

Solution
I was an Electrical Contractor for 30 years +, and a tradesman for longer.

If your electrical system is wired in conduit with metal boxes or with BX (metal clad cable) then you do have a ground present at the outlet already, but it is not accessible since you have a two prong plug.

However if you house is wired with Romex cable and has only two wires you are out of luck. There will be NO ground present at the receptacle. A third (ground) wire needs to run all the way back to the panel box to carry a ground.

If you have a VOM or a test light rated at 120volts or more you can easily test for a ground at the outlet.

Test first from the two holes to verify the tester, 125volts or so with the meter or if you are using a 120volt test...

inerax

Distinguished
to be honest if this is your life/business call a electrician, see what they say.

I have searched google and some sites say it is not that bad to do. But with that much hardware i would not trust my work. better safe than sorry ;)

Give a call to a pro. you might be surprised.

You would have to drive a 1/2" copper grounding rod I believe 6 or 8 feet into the ground and run 12 Guage wires from all sockets that are replaced.