Sign in with
Your question

$1500 Gaming, Movies, Internet Build (Aus)

Last response: in Systems
July 23, 2011 3:40:38 AM

Approximate Purchase Date: In August (Probably second or third week)

Budget Range: $1500

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, Internet, Movies...

Parts Not Required: OS, Monitor (Possibly)

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: MSY.com.au

Country of Origin: Australia

Parts Preferences: Intel CPU, Gigabyte Mobo, CoolerMaster Case.

Overclocking: Probably

SLI or Crossfire: Probably

Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080

Additional Comments: This is my first build. Have about $1500 to put towards it (can go slightly higher, but would rather keep it to $1500. I am hoping to be able to use my TV screen as a monitor. It's a 37" Panasonic Viera TH-L37V10A (100Hz) with a HDMI input to it.

My current build looks like:

Few things I'm not sure on:
PSU: Overkill for what I need? Better options?
Case: Asked in the Case section and the HAF 912 Advanced seemed to be the best option.
GPU: MSI a good brand? Overkill having 2 6950s? Better off spending elsewhere?
Mobo: In that price range, which is the best option?
Need extra Fans? Thermal paste worth using?

If the TV isn't going to be an option, what Monitor size/resolution/price would be advisable, and where do I go cheaper to clear out the money for it?

Cheers
July 23, 2011 4:17:40 AM

psu: get the 750w version of that psu it is all you need
case: can you post a link to the case it looks expensive for what it is
gpu: again i am going to have to see the other options available to you so a link to the website would be nice
mobo: good choice
your tv screen will work fine. most gamers use monitors for there fast response time. for 2 6950's 1gb a 24" 2ms response monitor is fine. asus makes good monitors. if you had the 6950 2gb version i would say go for 2-3 screens (smaller sized. 21" maybe. for the lower price) because the extra memory will actually be used