Nvidia & CUDA - Any Advantage ?

virajk

Distinguished
Jun 27, 2009
Hey guys, I'm from India and will be purchasing a gfx card from the US (told one of my friends to get me one, expensive out here).

My options range from HD6670 to the GTX 460 768 mb and with a tight budget of USD 175 (GFX + PSU), I'm not sure which one to go for.

Being a Computer Engineer/Software Programmer I was thinking does CUDA provide any advantage in parallel processing or video transcoding? I want to learn some of this stuff.
Besides is physx any advantage in gaming ?

At the moment my eyes are set on Evga GTX 550 TI, but seems like 5770 is really close to its performance and cheap, 460 768mb is a few dollars away but that demands a 2x6 pin connector and hence the extra cost of psu is out of my budget !

Current Config :
Amd Athlon x2 7850
Memory 2 gb Kingston
HDD WD 250 gb
PSU : Generic 400W
Resolution I play at : 1024x768 - 1680x1050

Products @ Newegg I have in mind :
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130625
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817815007

4745454b

Titan
GTX550 and 5770 pretty much trade blows. The 768MB GTX460 is faster then both, but if you don't have the $$$ you don't have the $$$. CUDA can be used in some applications. I have no idea if your video transcoding program can use CUDA or not. If it can, its WAY faster then using the CPU.

Personally I would get the cheaper of the GTX550 or 5770. Unless your board is CF only, or if you really want to play with CUDA.

virajk

Distinguished
Jun 27, 2009
Mediacoder is the program I mostly use for transcoding and it has the option for CUDA processing under one its video option tabs. How fast is it in relation with the cpu ?