Sign in with
Your question

Building a system for 3D rendering

Last response: in Systems
July 23, 2011 5:54:28 PM

Hey,

I'm looking to build a desktop system primarily for 3d rendering (solidworks, alias, vray) and Adobe software. I have never built a computer before, but this is what I have so far. My budget is about 1200-1500

Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 3.3GHz (3.7GHz Turbo Boost)
4 x 256KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache LGA 1155 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

ASUS P8P67-M (REV 3.0) LGA 1155 Intel P67 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Desktop Memory

Western Digital Caviar Green WD20EARS 2TB 64MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

I am very new to this, so bear with me. Will these components work together? I know I will also need to buy a case and cd/dvd drive.. Am I missing anything? Any suggestions/ advice would be great. Thanks!!
July 23, 2011 8:35:05 PM

You need 8 components in a basic system:

CPU
Motherboard
Ram
Video card
Hard Disk
DVD drive
Case
Power Supply

Aftermarket Heatsink & Fan and thermal past which may or may not come with the heatsink for overclocking the CPU

And you will need an operating system such as Windows or Linux or similar.

Then obviously the peripherials: Monitor, Keyboard and Mouse.

Then some advice:
CPU: decide if you want to overclock or not, no point in paying for the option if you never intend to do it.

Motherboard: Get a motherboard that has the features you want or intend to use in the future

Ram: It's cheap at the moment, but no point in going overboard either, nowadays 2x2GB works for gaming, 2x4GB is enough for multitasking and most applications.
Only go for more than 8GB if your program specifically needs it such as Maya or similar.