Sign-in / Sign-up
Your question

6970 vs 6950

Tags:
  • Graphics Cards
  • Graphics
Last response: in Graphics Cards
May 17, 2011 9:10:41 AM

Obviously the 6970 has better performance but it is currently about $340(aud) where as the 6950 is $240(aud) is the 6970 worth the extra $100 or should I get one 6950 now and wait till the prices comes down to get another? Will the 6970 get a significant price drop anytime soon? or ever?

I'm thinking maybe just go for a powerful single card as people seem to be against Crossfire in general and this is my first build. I'm wanting it for BF3, MW3, Crysis and other games just I assume they will be the more demanding of the things I plan to play.

Anyone want to point me in the direction of the best card for my needs, looking to play at MAX settings @ 1920x1200 with a secondary monitor at 1680x1050 both 60Hz

These are the parts that may be relevant to your advice:

CPU: i5 2500K (not OC for a while/if at all)
RAM: 8GB 1333Mhz
PSU: OCZ Fatal1ty 750W or Silverstone Strider 750W
Case: CM Storm Enforcer

More about : 6970 6950

May 17, 2011 9:20:31 AM

a single 6950 card can easily handle 1920X1080 resolution. go for 6950 and may be you are lucky enough to mod it to 6970 by bios.

P.S there is about 10-15% variation in the performance of 6970 and 6950.
m
l
Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !
a c 131 U Graphics card
May 17, 2011 9:30:55 AM

Hi,
Don't know if you are aware or not but the 2gb version of the 6950 has a very high success rate of bios flashing to upgrade it to a full 6970.
Its pretty much without risk as the card has a twin bios so you can flash one and if it dosent work you have the other bios.
Full details here http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/overclocking/vidcar...